Shadowhunters season two episode four – discussion

Hello!

for the first half of this episode, I was very happy, I liked how everything was going, the pacing, the dialogue, the plot and the acting was all pretty good. Then at about twenty minutes, I was very upset and somewhat angry.

this discussion will contain spoilers for the entire Mortal Instruments series, especially City of Glass, City of Fallen Angels and City of Lost Souls, so if you haven’t finished the series I wouldn’t recommend that you continue reading this post.


I’m going to start with the positives, because I did, as I said earlier, enjoy the first half of this episode.

the episode starts with Clary going to the City of Bones to visit Jace, to me this scene made sense. It felt like something that would’ve happened with book Clace, while some of the other scenes between Jace and Clary in previous episodes just haven’t felt right.

During this episode there was a lot of really nice lines said by so many characters, I always write down pieces of dialogue that I really liked, while I’m watching the episode, usually I have a few but I had at least 7 which I think was really good.

during this episode, we got to see a lot more of Alec and Clary’s friendship, and I really like how they’ve done it on the show. We have Alec calling Clary “Fray” and it reminded me of how Draco and Harry call each other ‘Malfoy’ and ‘Potter’ throughout the Harry Potter series.

We get this scene with Victor and Raphael where Aldertree wants to find out where Camille is, Raphael doesn’t know where she is and for some reason, Aldertree thinks he’s lying and tortures him with UV light. Honestly, I thought this scene was so awful, and it was a really sad scene to watch. To me, it didn’t feel like something we’d get from the books but in a way, it felt like something the show would do. I didn’t pick up on this until someone mentioned it online, but later in the episode when Raphael turned up at Magnus’s the burn marks on his face are shaped like crosses, which I thought was really sad.

We get a really nice scene with Raphael and Magnus, we actually got a lot of nice scenes with Magnus this episode. I think that all the scenes they did with Magnus, Simon, and Raphael were done really nicely, and they made me feel a lot of different emotions.

Last season during the court scene with Isabelle we don’t see the Mortal Sword, which I found a bit weird as it would’ve been used in that scenario. In this episode, we got to see the Mortal Sword which was super cool. I liked how we got to see that it forces you, to tell the truth, I was worried that they were going to get Jace to answer very easily, but we didn’t, we saw him trying (and failing) to fight the sword to not tell the truth.

Shadowhunters - Relive Every Moment Of Jace's Emotionally Intense Journey In S2E4! - 1008 Shadowhunters - Relive Every Moment Of Jace's Emotionally Intense Journey In S2E4! - 1009

I’m now going to talk about some of the things I really didn’t enjoy about this episode

this episode Shadowhunters introduced a new rune, a heat signature rune… so that they can see the demons heat signature. In the 11th Century, Raziel created all these runes, and the only Shadowhunter that can actually create new runes is Clary Fray. In the 11th Century, nobody knew nothing about heat signatures so obviously Raziel wouldn’t have been able to create the rune. In the 18th Century, Henry Branwell created the sensor, so that Shadowhunters can detect demons. I don’t know why they didn’t just bring up the sensor instead of making up a new rune in this episode because that would’ve made a lot more sense. This is the second time in this series that they’ve created new runes and it’s really bugging me now. If you want to know more about the sensor or rune history you can click on the links.

We get a scene with Hodge and Jace in the cells and it just felt wrong. In City of Glass, we get to see Hodge again with Simon, not Jace, in jail. In CoG Sebastian kills Hodge. I really don’t understand why Hodge had to be in this episode, and why he also had to die in this episode. Jace, Clary, Alec and Simon realise that Sebastian is working with Valentine when he kills Hodge. As the show is already adding so many things from books later in the series I’m wondering when characters that don’t appear till halfway through the series, for example, Sebastian, are going to be introduced.

Shadowhunters - Recognize These Faces? Welcome Back To Some Of Our Season 1 Faves! - 1007

We find out that Jocelyn has been summoned by the Clave to go to Idris. The first thing that popped into my mind was, didn’t she leave the Clave over fifteen years ago so that Clary wasn’t brought up in the shadow world? At this point, I was somewhat confused as to how can the Clave still be able to order her around even though she is no longer a part of the Clave.

Near the end of this episode Jocelyn dies, I believe, and I’m very confused as to why this happens. I noticed in earlier episodes that she wasn’t in the introduction/title sequence but Luke was, so I assumed they just weren’t going to have her play a huge role in this series. I was wrong because what they ended up doing was killing her. I feel like if they didn’t have a major role for her this season they could’ve just sent her to Idris instead of killing her. I feel like we didn’t get enough time to mourn her death and to actually feel a connection to her character as we have only really got to spend 4 episodes with her character.

The rest of this discussion is going to be about the demon possession plot they put into this episode. This paragraph will have major spoilers for City of Glass, City of Fallen Angels and City of Lost Souls, but the last paragraph has no book spoilers whatsoever in it. In City of Fallen Angels, we find out that when Shadowhunters are born they get some sort of protection put on them to prevent demonic influence/possession so that the events that happened in this episode cannot happen. This protection that is put on Shadowhunters is very important when it comes to the plot of City of Fallen Angels. At the end of City of Glass, Jace dies, when Raziel brings him back from the dead, as Clary asked, he was then stripped of that protection. Lilith was then able to control Jace causing a sh*t tonne of stuff to happen which causes the events of City of Lost Souls to happen. By the show adding this demon possession plot, which knowing Shadowhunters will never come up until it’s convenient, they’ve basically prevented themselves from properly being able to use the plot from the end of City of Glass, City of Fallen Angels and City of Lost Souls. I feel like Shadowhunters is trying to mix all of the books together but without it making actual sense.

Another thing I’d like to add about is the fact that when Shadowhunters are possessed by demons they are a lot stronger than the demon of its own. In previous episodes, demons are able to be killed by a little poke from a seraph blade, which is something that has really bugged me for a while now. When Izzy is possessed by the demon in this episode she appears to be a lot strong than she usually is, I believe this is because the demon is inside her. Then when the demon leaves Izzy, Clary is able to kill the demon quite easily. I don’t know if this is because the demon was inside Isabelle which is why it was harder to kill or not, but this just bugged me.


like the rest of the episodes of this season, I’m glad that the acting, pacing and script has improved.

I enjoyed the first half of this episode but I was sadly disappointed by the second half. I really don’t know how you can fix this mistake and how the series will work later on if the show gets a third season.

let me know if you agreed or disagreed with anything I said in this post!

 

Yasmin xx

TWITTER INSTAGRAM GOODREADS

 

Leave a Reply

