the best books I read in 2016

Hi!

as it is officially 2017 which means I can finally make a post with my favourite books that I read in 2016 (I will never understand how people know what their favourite reads of the year before the year even ends)

2016 has not been the best year,  a lot of not so great things have happened, but I want to focus on a few of the good things that happened this year such as my favourite books that I read this year.

so here are, in no particular order, the best books I read in 2016


19542841More Happy Than Not

author: Adam Silvera

genre: contemporary with a small amount of sci-fi

number of pages: 293

release date: June 2nd, 2015

I read this book in May this year but it is still one of my favourite reads. I still think about this book and how emotional it made me, it is seriously one of my favourite books of all time. I actually posted a spoiler free review of this book on my blog if you’d like to find out more about this book because honestly, it’s amazing!


17234658A Thousand Pieces of You

author: Claudia Gray

genre: sci-fi

number of pages: 360

release date: November 4th, 2014

I was shocked that I enjoyed this book as much as I did. The main reason I picked up this book is because of its cover but I continued with the trilogy for the plot and amazing writing. I read A Thousand Pieces of You and Ten Thousand Skies Above You in May and I was shocked and annoyed that I had to wait till November for the last book to come out in this trilogy. Now that the entire trilogy is out you can all go read this entire trilogy in one go!


19547856Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

author: Becky Albertalli

genre: contemporary

number of pages: 320

release date: April 7th, 2015

I read this book in September just before exam season which was probably one of the best things I’ve ever done. I can not begin to explain how helpful it is to read a good fun book that makes you smile just before big exams! It helps relieve stress and really it just made me feel happy!


23341894Every Last Word

author: Tamara Ireland Stone

genre: contemporary

number of pages: 368

release date: June 16th, 2015

This is another really good book I read just before exams! I cannot begin to explain how much I loved this book! This book was so informative and it really opened my eyes to what it’s like to have OCD. This book was filled with beautiful poetry and amazing writing. It was so beautifully written and left me wanting more.


24039424This Is Where the World Ends

author: Amy Zhang

genre: contemporary

number of pages: 304

release date: March 22nd, 2016

for the past two years, an Amy Zhang book has been one of my favourite reads of the year. There is something so captivating about Amy’s writing that makes me feel so happy. Even though I didn’t enjoy this book as much as I enjoyed Falling Into Place (which I seriously recommend) I still really enjoyed this book.


26109391Highly Illogical Behaviour

author: John Corey Whaley

genre: contemporary

number of pages: 256

release date: May 10th 2016

I read this book during exam season! Which was a great idea because it made me so happy because I was ridiculously stressed about the four exams I had that week and this book made me so happy and helped relieve so much stress. Cristina from My Tiny Obsessions has a really good spoiler free review on their blog, so if you’d like to find out more about this book go check out their review!


18710209Tiny Pretty Things

authors: Sona Charaipotra and Dhonielle Clayton

genre: contemporary

number of pages: 448

release date: May 26th, 2015

I loved this book so much! I’d seen so much about this book on Twitter and I’m so glad I picked it up. I’ve read a few books with dual points of views but I’ve never read a book with three! Honestly, it was one of the coolest things but not the only cool thing about this book. I didn’t know that this book was written by multiple authors until I finished the book, the writing melted together really well which helped the story flow beautifully. I could talk forever about all the little things I enjoyed about this book but here is not the place, but if you’d like to see more of my thoughts on this book you can check out my goodreads review.


28686840Holding Up the Universe

author: Jennifer Niven

genre: contemporary

number of pages: 391

release date: October 4th, 2016

I loved this book so much! It addressed so many important issues and I honestly wished I’d read this book earlier. I have spoiler free review on my blog not too long ago, if you’d like to see more of my thoughts on this book. This book was honestly such a great read and I’m so glad I read it when I did.


28688476Something in Between

author: Melissa de la Cruz

genre: contemporary

number of pages: 432

release date: October 4th, 2016

I knew I would love this book but I didn’t realise how much I’d love this book. I don’t enjoy instant love/love at first sight and that was the only thing I didn’t enjoy the novel. Other than that, I thought it was really nice and super important to see to see stories like this as little things like this really help change people’s views on immigration.

20517739Far From You

author: Tess Sharpe

genre: mystery

number of pages: 343

release date: March 27th, 2014

I absolutely loved this book! There were so many things in book that I could relate to. I’ve never read a book with a bisexual character, other than The Mortal Instruments, and I think it was really nice to see not only a bisexual character but one that physically states that they’re not gay they’re bisexual. I also have a mini review on Goodreads with more of my thoughts and feelings on this book if you’d like to go check it out.


those were the best books I read in 2016!

let me know what yours are in the comments

Yasmin xx

twitter instagram goodreads
Leave a Reply

