October and November monthly wrap up 

Hi,

If you didn’t know I took a break from blogging and thats why this wrap up is for both October and November.

For those of you who would really like to know why I took a break you can check out the post I made explaining why.

I’m appologising in advance for the long post, there are just a lot of books.


23341894Every Last Word

Author: Tamara Ireland Stone

Genre: Contemporary

Number of Pages: 368

Release Date: June 16th 2015

My Rating: 5/5 stars

I absolutely loved this novel, it was so informative and it really opened my mind to what it’s like to live with obsessive compulsive disorder (OCD). I found it amazing that Tamara Ireland Stone had thoroughly researched into the disorder to have sure that the disorder was portrayed correctly in order to respect people who have OCD. I think this really helps other people, such as myself, understand the disorder, in order to help remove the stigma surrounding it.

24039424This Is Where The World Ends

Author: Amy Zhang

Genre: Contemporary

Number of Pages: 304

Release Date: March 22nd 2016

My Rating: 4.5/5 stars

After reading Amy Zhangs’ other novel Falling Into Place and absolutely enjoying it I knew I had to pick up her next book. I absolutely loved this novel, the writing was so beautiful and the story was so captivating.

9370793Uglies

Author: Scott Westerfeld

Genre: Science Fiction

Number of Pages: 425

Release Date: February 8th 2005

My Rating: 4/5 stars

I really enjoyed this novel I think I just had higher expectations because I absolutely loved Afterworlds and I guess I just expected more from this novel as I have heard so much about it. I definetly will be continuing with the series as I want to see how it progresses.

17884053Katana Volume One

Author: Ann Nocenti

Number of Pages: 256

Release Date: August 26th 2014

My Rating: 3.5/5 stars

I did enjoy reading this comic, just not as much as I have for other comics. I just wasn’t my favourite comic I’ve read.

Jessica Jones Alias Volumes One to Four

Authors: Brian Michael Bendis, David W. Mack, Michael Gaydos and Bill Sienkiewicz

My Rating: 5/5 stars

I picked up these comics because I really want to watch the Netflix series Jessica Jones, which is based on these comics. When it comes to Marvel and DC movies/TV shows I have never read the comics before I watched the movie/show and I felt like I was missing out. I absolutely loved these comics, I loved Jessica’s character and I loved how real they felt.

Harley Quinn Issues 14 and 15

Author: Karl Kesel

My Rating: 5/5 stars

I honestly just love Harley as a character, she is such a cool character that I really enjoy reading about.

21414439Truthwitch

Author: Susan Dennard

Genre: Fantasy

Number of Pages: 416

Release Date: January 5th 2016

My Rating: 4.5/5 stars

I read this book through an audiobook (is that how you word it?) so I got to hear all the different accents which was super cool. I loved seeing all the different kinds of magic and honestly I just haven’t read a fantasy novel in so long so I’m so happy to have read a fantast novel.

26109391Highly Illogical Behaviour

Author: John Corey Whaley

Genre: Contemporary

Number of Pages: 256

Release Date: May 10th 2016

My Rating: 5/5 stars

I absolutely loved this book, I just really enjoyed reading it. After reading the synopsis of this novel I was quite sceptical as Lisa was trying to “fix him” I was worried this book was going to go horribly in the wrong direction and I’m so glad that it didn’t. I loved the humour in this novel, I loved seeing how supportive his parents and grandmother were. I loved seeing how much he loved star trek, even though I’ve never seen it myself, I could relate to his love of something.

30151298Breathing Under Water

Author: Sophie Hardcastle

Genre: Contemporary

Number of Pages: 310

Release Date: July 12th 2016

My Rating: 3/5 stars

I was sent this book for review from Netgalley. I honestly enjoyed reading this novel, I think the writing was written in such a beautiful way I jusr didn’t enjoy the plot. If you’d like to see my full spoiler free review you can view it here on Goodreads.

25785357Firstlife 

 

Author: Gena Showalter

Genre: Fantasy

Number of Pages: 467

Release Date: February 23rd 2016

My Rating: 1/5 stars

I honestly was so disappointed in this novel, the synopsis made it sound so interesting and it just really boring. I didn’t really understand the plot.

22078240Saga Deluxe Edition (Volumes 1-18)

 

Author: Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples

Genre: Fantasy/Science Fiction

Number of Pages: 504

Release Date: November 25th 2014

My Rating: 5/5 stars

I honestly loved this so much I loved the world and the characters. I loved seeing all these different characters and especially all these especially how strong and beautiful all of these characters are.

19254725Gena/Finn 

 

Author: Hannah Moskowitz

Genre: Contemporary

Number of Pages: 287

Release Date: May 17th 2016

My Rating: 3/5 stars

I really enjoyed reading this book, the only thing I didn’t really enjoy about this book was that I had no idea what the show, Up Bellow, was about. We know that it’s a cop show, but I just wished that we got to learn a bit more about it.

29069989Harry Potter and The Cursed Child

Author: J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany

Genre: Fantasy

Number of Pages: 320

Release Date: July 31st 2016

My Rating: 3.5/5 stars

I was honestly disappointed by this play, I know that I was just expecting a lot more from this novel. I will be posting a review fully explaining my thoughts and feelings on this play as I really want to talk about this novel in a lot more detail.

28960100A Million Worlds with You

 

Author: Claudia Gray

Genre: Science Fiction

Number of Pages: 419

Release Date: November 1st 2016

My Rating: 4.5/5 stars

I really enjoyed reading this trilogy. I loved the ending of this novel. I was just slightly disappointed by the fact that everything was just a bit convenient, but other than that it was a really good conclusion to the trilogy.

28204534Paper Girls Volume One

Author: Brian K. Vaughan, Cliff Chiang and Matthew Wilson

Genre: Science Fiction

Number of Pages: 144

Release Date: April 5th 2016

My Rating: 3/5 stars

I really did enjoy reading this comic, it just wasn’t something I’m into.

27865252This Above All

Author: Lindsey Roth Culli

Genre: Contemporary

Number of Pages: 226

Release Date: August 29th 2016

My Rating: 4/5 stars

I was sent this book for review via Netgalley. I enjoyed reading this book there was just a few things that I had a problem with. I will have a full spoiler free review up on my blog soon, so if you’d like to learn a bit more about my thoughts on this book in more detail.

118944American Born Chinese

Author: Gene Luen Yang

Genre: Graphic Novel

Number of Pages: 240

Release Date: September 5th 2006

My Rating: 5/5 stars

I really enjoyed reading this novel, it touched a lot of topics that are important to me. I just found this graphic novel to be really impactful and beautiful.

Ms Marvel Volumes One to Three

Author: G. Willow Wilson and Adrian Alphona

My Rating: 5/5 stars

I absolutely loved reading this! I honestly love her humour and seeing Kamala fangirl over superheroes because honestly it was one of the adorable things in the world. I loved seeing Kamala’s family speaking in Arabic, usually just words or small phrases, during conversation. It reminded me of my own home how my mum casually says words in Gujarati during conversations at home.


So those are the books I read during October and November!

If you have read any of these or are planning on reading them, let me know what you think of it in the comments.

Yasmin xx

TWITTER INSTAGRAM GOODREADS
Leave a Reply

