THE LIBRARY – PART ONE

Hey,

A while ago on Twitter I saw a bunch of tweets discussing reading being a financial investment and from this came discussions on the use of the libraries.

If you’d like to see more of the discussion and things that were brought up though this tweet just check out the replies to this tweet.

I use my local library a lot and so I finally decided to make a post on the things I love about using a library and the things I don’t.

As I was making this post I realised I had a lot to say for both the positives and the negatives and didn’t want to flood people with a massive post, so I decided to split this into three posts, the first one which is about the negatives, the second one which is about the positives, and the third one which will be about my final thoughts on using the library which might also include some of the people who are reading these posts thoughts and feelings.


I decided to start with the negatives, because it’s always better to end with the positives.

The most obvious negative is the fact that you cannot keep the book, you have to return it. This sucks, especially if you really enjoyed the book. Also, to be honest I would love to have a visual record of all the books I’ve read (other than Goodreads) because I think it’s a pretty cool thing to have.

This kind of ties into my last point, but another thing I don’t like about libraries is that you can only keep the book for a limited amount of time. This is both a positive and a negative. I can only keep a book for four weeks, I know that this varies from library to library. But I know that all the libraries in my city can be borrowed for four weeks. You can also renew a book, I think for an extra for weeks, but you can only do this once and that is only if no one else has requested it.

Sometimes a book can take me a while to finish or I might have had it sitting around at home for a while and then I’ve had to return it while I was reading it. This has happened to me a few times and it’s really annoying.

One I think that is more important for some people is overdue fines. I haven’t ever had an overdue library book before because my local library is quite close and we don’t have to go out of our way to go and return a library book. However I know that having an overdue book can get pretty pricey and that’s obviously a negative because the main reason why people go to the library is because it is free.

Lastly I think one of the main reason why a lot of readers prefer to buy books over using the library is because of the small range of books that their local libraries have. I am extremely lucky to have quite a large range of books at my local library, I don’t think I’ve ever not been able to find a book before at my library. However this is not the case for everyone worldwide. I have heard many people say that they would actually use the library if they had books that they would read. I think that it’s really sad that not all libraries have a good range of books, because I think that so many more people would use their local libraries if they had a variety of good books.


Even though I just gave and explained many negatives about the library, I still really enjoy the library and have so many positives to talk about in the next part of this series.

Leave a comment telling me about how you feel about the library and your experience with libraries.

Yasmin xx

twitter instagram goodreads
7 thoughts on “THE LIBRARY – PART ONE

  1. Krysta says:

    I’ve seen a lot of people say they don’t use their libraries because of the small selection and I get that. My local library is very small and has almost nothing I want. But that’s the magic of inter-library loan. Yes, I have to wait a few weeks for the book to be shipped to my library, but it’s not like there aren’t other books I can read in the interim. And using inter-library loan a lot can sometimes indicate to libraries that they need to find a way to up their funding so they can meet the demand for books.

    Liked by 1 person

    • readbooksanddrinkcoffee says:

      I never heard of that system before, so it’s quite interesting to hear about it. For the city that I live in, there are libraries all over the city, we used to be four separate areas in one city but now are one, so all the libraries are under one name “Auckland Libraries” it very similar to the inter-library loan idea, I’ve just never heard it be called that before. Except all the books are owned by “Auckland Libraries”
      -Yasmin

      Like

      • Krysta says:

        Most libraries here seem to be in systems together and you can request books from them all at your home library. Trucks usually run to each on designated days. But it’s separate from inter-library loan, where your home library searches to see which libraries in the U.S. own the book you want and then they mail it to your home library. So it takes longer if it’s coming across the country, but it’s kind of cool to look at the book and see how far it travelled!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

