JULY 2016 MONTHLY WRAP UP

Hey,

So I was on school holiday for half of this month, which was amazing because school is getting more and more stressful by the second and I really needed a break from it all.

I read three books in the second week of July which was super cool and something I am really proud of. I read four and a bit books this month which is another thing I’m proud of.

So let me tell you about the books I read!


19351043Nimona

Author: Noelle Stevenson

Genre: Fantasy

Number of Pages: 272

Release Date: May 12th 2015

My Rating: 5/5 stars

I don’t read a lot of graphic novels, mostly because I like to imagine what the setting and characters look like.

However I  absolutely loved this novel. It was so funny, it had me laughing out loud while reading it, which is rare for me. It was so beautifully drawn, the illustrations were so adorable yet felt so well done (if that makes sense). There were absolutely no faults.

One of my favourite things about this book was how at the end of the novel we got to see what the character originally looked like, I think it was something cool and quite amazing to see.


10929432The Archived 

Author: Victoria Schwab

Genre: Fantasy/Paranormal

Number of Pages: 328

Release Date: January 22nd 2013

My Rating: 5/5 Stars

I really enjoyed the idea of the Keeper’s, Histories and really the entire concept of this world. I went into this book without really reading the blurb and I was quite surprised (in a good way) by what this book is about.

I absolutely loved this book, I loved the characters, the world, the plot line. This book is one of my favourites (I feel like I’ve been saying that about a lot of books lately but it’s true). This book reminds me of a show I recently started watching called Wynonna Earp, it’s one of my favourite shows of all time which was probably one of the reasons why I loved this book so much.


18296016The Ring and The Crown

Author: Melissa de la Cruz

Genre: Fantasy

Number of Pages: 384

Release Date: April 1st 2014

My Rating: 1.5/5 stars

I really didn’t like this book, which was quite disappointing because from what I’d heard this was a pretty good book.

There was nothing interesting about this book, I was quite bored while reading it, which again was really disappointing. I really liked the cover (I know, I shouldn’t judge a book by its cover) of this book and from the synopsis it sounded like a good read.


23174274Glass Sword

Author: Victoria Aveyard

Genre: Fantasy

Number of Pages: 444

Release Date: February 9th 2016

My Rating: 5/5 stars

I started this book in March and sadly I had to return it to the library to avoid overdue fines. I re requested it, however it took ages for me to be able to check it out again because so many people wanted to read it. I made sure that on Goodreads I had the page number that I was at on there so that I could just continue from where I was, this is a big book.

I read the second half of this book in one sitting, which is rare for me. I absolutely loved this book. It was just as good as the first one (Red Queen) and the ending made just as much as an impact as the first one as well.


2780257513 Minutes

Author: Sarah Pinborough

Genre: Thriller, Mystery & Crime

Number of Pages: 320

Release Date: July 14th 2016

I got this book through Netgalley in return for an honest review, I am somewhat enjoying it so far. However I have noticed a few things (tropes) that are annoying, it’s still a good read so far. I am hoping that this book gets better, because I really like mystery and crime novels.


 

So those are the books I read in July.

Tell me in the comments what you read in July, because who knows we might have read the same book(s)

Thank you so much for reading

Yas xx

One thought on “JULY 2016 MONTHLY WRAP UP

Leave a Reply

