WHY YOU SHOULD WATCH SENSE8

Hey,

Recently Krysta, from Pages Unbound, made a blog post called Why the World Needs “Supergirl”. This was before it was announced that it was being renewed for a second season. Both Krysta and I love Supergirl because it discusses feminist issues in a fun and entertaining way.


For me having characters of colour, LGBTI characters, characters with disabilities and characters with mental illness, that are represented accurately is so important and personally makes the show/movie/book so much better.

The reason why I decided to make this post was because of a Netlfix show I started watching last year called Sense8.

Before I begin to explain why I love this show so much I’m just going to briefly explain what this show is about so this post can make a lot more sense to those of you who haven’t watched or heard of this show before.

“Eight strangers around the globe find themselves connected — first by a violent vision, then by their shared ability to connect with one another’s thoughts and actions, and finally by the urgent need to find out what happened and why. Their need to know goes beyond simple curiosity — as they pursue answers, a mysterious organization hunts them down, intent on destroying them. The intense thriller is the first foray into television (or, more accurately, Netflix) for renowned filmmakers Lana Wachowski and Andy Wachowski (“The Matrix Reloaded”), who created the series with J. Michael Straczynski (“Thor”). The international cast includes veteran actors known to U.S. audiences, like Daryl Hannah (“Kill Bill”) and Naveen Andrews (“Lost”), and others well-known in their home countries, like German actor Max Riemelt and Doona Bae of South Korea. In keeping with the global premise of the series, shooting takes place all over the world, including London, Reykjavik, Nairobi and Mumbai.”

That is the offical synopsis of the show, to summarise/simplify;

This is a s show about eight strangers, a white cop from Chicago named Will, a white lesbian trans woman/former hacker from San Francisco named Nomi, a Korean martial artist and daughter of a super powerful businessman named Sun, a Kenyan bus driver named Capheus, an Indian pharmacist and bride-to-be named Kala, a German safecracker named Wolfgang, an Icelandic DJ named Riley and a Mexican actor named Lito. These eight people develop a psychic connection, they’re called Sensates. They start to get hunted down by this mysterious guy named Whispers, who is wealthy and has a lot of international power, who doesn’t like them.

Here a link for the trailer if you want another explaination, or just want to watch the trailer.


The main reason why I love this show is

a) the plot
b) the humour
c) having a diverse cast

One of the things I really liked about this show was how it represented transgender and homosexual people. This show shows how hard it is for LGBTI to come out and how not everyone is always accepting of it but how there will always be people who will accept you for who you are. I think this is such an important thing for everyone to know.

Another thing I love about

Even though I have just talked about all the things I love about this show there are still things I didn’t. The main and I think only thing I really didn’t like was the use of stereotypes.

  • Korean Martial Artist
  • Mexican Drug Lord
  • Indian Woman in an Arranged Marriage
  • Manic Pixie Dream Girl with Substance Abuse Issues
  • White Saviour Cop

Personally the use of stereotypes kind of cancels out the use of a diverse cast.

The only other thing I think is important for anyone who wants to watching this show is that it is rated 17+ as there is swearing, violence and sex scenes, but I’m under the age of 17 and had no problem watching it, I did skip certain scenes as I didn’t feel comfortable watching it.


So far twelve episodes have aired, each episode being an hour long. The second season is said to be released around Christmas time 2016.

If you have or are now planning to start watching Sense8 leave a comment telling me about your opinions on the show and or why you started/are planning on watching the show.

Thank you so much for reading.

Yasmin xx

3 thoughts on “WHY YOU SHOULD WATCH SENSE8

  1. Janice Wald says:

    Hi Yasmin,
    Are you an entertainment blogger? I considered being an entertainment blogger. My husband loves SuperGirl. I like it too.
    I met you on Briana’s site. You said you appreciated blogging tips, so I came over. I also blog about blogging tips and greatly appreciated the validation Briana gave to all bloggers like Briana and me who offer blogging tips in order to help people with their blogs. Maybe you can check out my blogging tips site since you said you appreciate the tips. Here is the link to my About page, so you can read more about me. http://mostlyblogging.com/about/.
    Janice

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

