SUMMER BIANNUAL BIBLIOTHON 2016 WRAP UP 

Hey,

so the biannual bibliothon didn’t go to plan, mostly because it ended up being on the last week of term and then my teachers thought it was a good idea to give me three tests this week (I’m not even kidding, they were all on the same day)

If you haven’t seen my TBR for this read-a-thon and you’d like to before you continue reading this post, you can click here to go and read it.

I read one and a bit books this week, which in my opinion is pretty impressive considering my lack of free time.

So here’s my wrap up!


19351043Nimona

Author: Noelle Stevenson

Genre: Fantasy

Number of Pages: 272

Release Date: May 12th 2015

Synopsis: “Nimona is an impulsive young shapeshifter with a knack for villainy. Lord Ballister Blackheart is a villain with a vendetta. As sidekick and supervillain, Nimona and Lord Blackheart are about to wreak some serious havoc. Their mission: prove to the kingdom that Sir Ambrosius Goldenloin and his buddies at the Institution of Law Enforcement and Heroics aren’t the heroes everyone thinks they are.

But as small acts of mischief escalate into a vicious battle, Lord Blackheart realizes that Nimona’s powers are as murky and mysterious as her past. And her unpredictable wild side might be more dangerous than he is willing to admit.”

Completes the Challenge(s): Read a Book in a Different Format than You Usually Read

I don’t read a lot of graphic novels, as I prefer having to imagine what the setting and characters look like myself. However I  absolutely loved this novel. it was so funny, so beautifully drawn, there were absolutely no faults. I loved how at the end of the novel we got to see what the character originally looked like, I think it was something cool and quite amazing to see.

I gave this book 5/5 stars


10929432The Archived 

Author: Victoria Schwab

Genre: Fantasy/Paranormal

Number of Pages: 328

Release Date: January 22nd 2013

Synopsis: “Imagine a place where the dead rest on shelves like books.

Each body has a story to tell, a life seen in pictures only Librarians can read. The dead are called Histories, and the vast realm in which they rest is the Archive.

Da first brought Mackenzie Bishop here four years ago, when she was twelve years old, frightened but determined to prove herself. Now Da is dead, and Mac has grown into what he once was: a ruthless Keeper, tasked with stopping often violent Histories from waking up and getting out. Because of her job, she lies to the people she loves, and she knows fear for what it is: a useful tool for staying alive.

Being a Keeper isn’t just dangerous—it’s a constant reminder of those Mac has lost, Da’s death was hard enough, but now that her little brother is gone too, Mac starts to wonder about the boundary between living and dying, sleeping and waking. In the Archive, the dead must never be disturbed. And yet, someone is deliberately altering Histories, erasing essential chapters. Unless Mac can piece together what remains, the Archive itself may crumble and fall.”

Completes the Challenge(s): Read a Book Off of the Host’s List of Recommendations & Read a Book You’ve Been Putting Off Picking Up

I started, but sadly didn’t finish this book during the read-a-thon. I got almost halfway through this book during the week and so far I’m really enjoying it. I’m really enjoying the concept of the Keeper’s, Histories and really the entire concept of this world. I went into this book without really reading the blurb and I was quite surprised (in a good way) by what this book is about.

So far I’d give this book 5/5 stars


how many reading challenges I have completed over the week

1. Read The Group Book – The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

2. Free Choice/ Wild Card Book

3.Read a Book Off of the Host’s List of Recommendations

4. Read a Book With Your Favorite Mythical Creature

5. Read a Book You’ve Been Putting Off Picking Up

6. Read a Book from an Author You’ve Never Read Before

7. Read a Book in a Different Format than You Usually Read

Technically I’ve only completed one out of the seven reading challenges, which is bad I know. But I’m going to say I’ve completed three out of the seven reading challenges so I don’t feel so bad about myself.

Both books I read this week could complete the sixth challenge, read a book from an author you’ve never read before, but I originally assigned this reading challenge to a different book.


So that was how I did during the Summer Biannual Bibliothon this year, leave a comment if you also participated in this read-a-thon telling me how it went, or if you’ve read any of the two book I mentioned in this post.

Thank you so much for reading

Yasmin xx

4 thoughts on “SUMMER BIANNUAL BIBLIOTHON 2016 WRAP UP 

Leave a Reply

