MAY 2016 MONTHLY WRAP UP

Hey,

This month I was very proud of the amount of reading I got done considering the fact that I had mid year exams this month and was studying a lot of the month. I think I read a lot this month because I read during my study breaks. It doesn’t matter exactly how much I read in the month because personally I think enjoying what you read is all that should matter, quality over quantity my friends.

Any way, lets get into the wrap up.


 

The Rose Society23846013

Author: Marie Lu

Genre: Fantasy

Number of Pages: 395

Release Date: October 13th 2015

link to synopsis as this is a sequel and I don’t want to spoil anyone

 

I absolutely loved The Young Elites, I think I’ve said this many times previously on my blog, and I honestly wasn’t disappointed with The Rose Society. Honestly this book was just as if not better than The Young Elites.

Occasionally on my twitter I tweet my reaction or I “live tweet” my feelings as I’m reading a book I really enjoy. I don’t tweet spoilers because I don’t want to accidentally spoil people. While I was reading The Rose Society I tweeted about my ships and Marie Lu liked my tweets which was very exciting since I haven’t really gotten any interactions with authors other than for reviews, and Cassandra Clare. Leave a comment below of any experience you’ve ever had with an author, because I love hearing other peoples stories.

Anyway, I really enjoyed The Rose Society and I’m super excited to read the next novel in this series.

I gave this novel 4.5/5 stars


17234658A Thousand Pieces of You

Author: Claudia Gray

Genre: Science Fiction

Number of Pages: 360

Release Date: November 4th 2014

Synopsis:

“Marguerite Caine’s physicist parents are known for their groundbreaking achievements. Their most astonishing invention, called the Firebird, allows users to jump into multiple universes—and promises to revolutionize science forever. But then Marguerite’s father is murdered, and the killer—her parent’s handsome, enigmatic assistant Paul— escapes into another dimension before the law can touch him.

Marguerite refuses to let the man who destroyed her family go free. So she races after Paul through different universes, always leaping into another version of herself. But she also meets alternate versions of the people she knows—including Paul, whose life entangles with hers in increasingly familiar ways. Before long she begins to question Paul’s guilt—as well as her own heart. And soon she discovers the truth behind her father’s death is far more sinister than she expected.

A Thousand Pieces of You explores an amazingly intricate multi-universe where fate is unavoidable, the truth elusive, and love the greatest mystery of all.”

I’m going to be honest with you guys, I did not read the synopsis before I read this book… I looked at the cover and thought it was beautiful and then started reading it. I’m sorry I’m such a disappointment because I am 100% guilty of judging a book by it’s cover. I cannot begin to explain how much I enjoyed this book. The plot line is amazing, the characters are amazing and the relationships between these amazing characters is just as amazing. I did not know that this book was part of a series and I’m so glad that it is because I don’t know what I would’ve done if I didn’t get to see more of these characters.

I seriously recommend this book to everyone and anyone because this book is so good.

I obviously gave this novel 5/5 stars


17234659Ten Thousand Skies Above You

Author: Claudia Gray

Genre: Science Fiction

Number of Pages: 424

Release Date: November 3th 2015

link to synopsis, as this is a sequel and I don’t want to spoil anyone

Just like A Thousand Pieces of You I absolutely loved this novel. Sequels are either a hit or a miss for me, but recently I’ve been really lucky. Again I was left wanting more as I have fallen in love with this story. But sadly I have to wait till November to continue this trilogy (so if you’re planning on picking up the Firebird trilogy wait till November so you can marathon them)

Of course I gave this novel a 5/5 stars


19542841More Happy Than Not

Author: Adam Silvera

Genre: Contemporary

Number of Pages: 293

Release Date: June 2nd 2015

Synopsis:

“In the months after his father’s suicide, it’s been tough for 16-year-old Aaron Soto to find happiness again–but he’s still gunning for it. With the support of his girlfriend Genevieve and his overworked mom, he’s slowly remembering what that might feel like. But grief and the smile-shaped scar on his wrist prevent him from forgetting completely.

When Genevieve leaves for a couple of weeks, Aaron spends all his time hanging out with this new guy, Thomas. Aaron’s crew notices, and they’re not exactly thrilled. But Aaron can’t deny the happiness Thomas brings or how Thomas makes him feel safe from himself, despite the tensions their friendship is stirring with his girlfriend and friends. Since Aaron can’t stay away from Thomas or turn off his newfound feelings for him, he considers turning to the Leteo Institute’s revolutionary memory-alteration procedure to straighten himself out, even if it means forgetting who he truly is.

Why does happiness have to be so hard?”

I am a huge lover of LGBT/queer characters so when I found out that the main character in this novel is queer I knew I had to read it. I personally want to read more books with queer characters, that aren’t side characters, and books that discuss issues such as mental illness. So when I was recommended this book I knew I’d really enjoy reading it.

So far I am only twenty percent through this novel and I’m really enjoying this book, the way it is written is easy to read and it also flows nicely which is always a good thing. I am not far enough through this novel to give it a rating out of five stars, but I am enjoying it so far.


So that was my wrap up for May.

Leave a comment if you have read any of the books I read in May or if you’re planning on reading them.

Thank you so much for reading.

Yas xx

4 thoughts on “MAY 2016 MONTHLY WRAP UP

Leave a Reply

