MINOR BY MEGHAN MCDONNELL – REVIEW (SPOILER FREE)

Hey,

Earlier this year Meghan McDonnell contacted me asking if I wanted to read her novel, Minor, in exchange for an honest review, I read the synopsis and said yes as I found the concept of her book very interesting.

So here is my spoiler free review.


28376717Minor

Author: Meghan McDonnell

Number of Pages: 178

Release Date: December 18th 2015

Synopsis:

“Minor is the first installment of the personal journals in which, for over 20 years, writer Meghan McDonnell has chronicled her life beginning at age eight through present day. With searing candor and tenderness, her musings on daily life and observations of family, social and romantic relationships coalesce in a commentary on growing up, facing down passion and fear, and American life in the 21st century. Wide in scope and vivid in detail, her journals are her confessional love letter to the world. Join her on a fearless, vulnerable, sometimes painful and quixotic, but always honest journey, also known as the human experience. Readers who love Cheryl Strayed or Karl Ove Knausgaard will enjoy this author.

Volume one spans her eighth year through age 17; reflections on family, friendship, education, a stint at survival camp and coming of age.”

When I first read the synopsis of this novel I was quite interested in how I would be impacted by this novel. I know that there are a few authors journals which have been published such as The Diary Of Anne Frank, that people have talked so highly of and have been emotionally impacted by. I however have never read a book like this before and found this to be a new and pleasant experience.

As this has been written when Meghan was around my age I found a lot of the thoughts and emotions that she was dealing with are very similar to the ones I am. What I am going through and what Meghan had gone through are two different things but I was able to find comfort in knowing that other people from previous generations and people that are my age now are/have dealt with similar emotions. This helped me a lot emotionally and helped me understand that there are people who feel the same way about certain situations.

One thing I really enjoyed while reading this novel was the fact that you could see her changing as she got older through the way she wrote what she wrote about and how she ended each entry. I noticed that she would change the way she signed off each entry differently, for example at one point she would sign off with “See you, Meggie” and at other points in her life she would sign off with “Love, M” I think this change was so interesting to see as it’s little things like that which we wouldn’t notice in our everyday lives.

The main thing I got from this novel was the desire to start writing down my thoughts and feelings each and everyday. Yes I do run a blog but I don’t write about what happened in my day and what made me really happy and what didn’t. I think doing this would be a really good way of expressing my emotions instead of bottling it all up, also it would be quite interesting to read back as I got older.

Overall this novel was an pleasure to read and I would recommend it to everyone and anyone no matter how old you are.

Minor is the first out of three novels, the other two are called Novice and Limbo. If you’d like to read one of her books that she has written as she got older I’d recommend these two.

I gave this book a 4.5/5 stars


 

Thank you so much for reading

Yas xx

Leave a Reply

