SHADOWHUNTERS SEASON ONE – TV SHOW DISCUSSION

Hey,

The first season of Shadowhunters has finished so I thought it’d be a good time to express all my thoughts on the season as a whole.

This is mostly because I didn’t watch every single episode the day it aired and also because I wanted to have time to actually process my thoughts and feelings on this series as a whole before I made a post about it. Another reason why I wanted to wait till the whole season had aired is because some people like to wait till the whole season has aired and then binge watch it.

Anyway, that’s enough about why I decided to talk about the show the way I did lets actually get into my thoughts on the show.


Before I start I’d like to say this, I absolutely love this series and I really want this adaptation to do well. However as I am reviewing this show as a reader and a fan of the novels, I will be talking about things that I did and didn’t like with this show as an adaptation. If you don’t want to hear anything negative about this show I’d recommend that you don’t continue reading this post. My aim is not to offend anyone, it’s to put my own personal opinion on this show.

Now that I’ve made that clear I will actually start talking about the show.

One of the big issues I had with this season is the inconsistencies with the the runes and the way the demons died. In the pilot they waved their stele’s over their skin and the runes appeared, however since then runes have been drawn/burnt into their skin. To me this was a big deal and I found it quite frustrating to watch, as I’m really picky.

In all the episodes the demons poofed away once they were stabbed, however in episode seven when Clary stabs the demon that looks like Jace the demon just stays there for a while and then poofs. I understand that this was done to add a dramatic effect, but I would’ve just preferred it if the demon had just poofed away like every other demon had.

Another thing that was a big deal to me was the script. A lot of the lines used were very cheesy and I just couldn’t take anything seriously. Other than the lines being really cheesy there were some scenes that wouldn’t just been a lot better without dialogue, for example at the end of episode three when Clary and Simon are hugging on the roof of the hotel demort I feel like that scene would’ve been so much better if no one was talking.

The last thing I’d like to talk about before I talk about each individual episode is the graphics and filming of the series. A lot of the graphics felt very cheap or were just unnecessary. The way the demons died reminded me a lot of the scene in Catching Fire when Katniss is training and shooting the animated people. I think I thought that because they are the same colour, but I’m not sure.

I don’t know if anyone else thought this too, but I haven’t heard anyone talk about the similarities so I doubt it. The way I pictured demons dying is completely different to the way that they did it in the show.

Another issue I have with the editing is the weird slow motion effect they use during fight scenes and training scenes, to me it seems really unnecessary and it doesn’t look good. I know Emma (from emmmabooks on YouTube) and Christine (from polandbananasBOOKS on YouTube) also talked about how they didn’t like this either. If you don’t know what I mean by this I’ve added a gif so you can see.

This wasn’t something I picked up on until Emma (from emmmabooks on Youtube) mentioned in in one of her episode discussions, and this was the parallels (incorrect adaptation) between the film and the tv show. There’s a few of them so I’ll just briefly explain them.

  • In both adaptions Jace kills the demon in Clary’s apartment, but in the novel Clary kills the demon. “With a scream she hit out at the thing, wanting to smash it, to blind it.” “she jammed the Sensor between it’s teeth” “Suddenly the thing began to twitch. Spasming uncontrollably, it rolled off Clary and onto its back, multiple legs churning the air. Black fluid pored from its mouth.” – Page 52, City of Bones. The fact that Clary killed the demon showed that she is a Shadowhunter.
  • Simon doesn’t get turned into a rat in the film or the TV series. This scene was one of my favourite in the entire Mortal Instruments series and it made me quite upset that they didn’t add it in either of the adaptations.
  • Simon becoming a vampire in the first film/season. Simon doesn’t become a vampire until City of Ashes and when he does become a vampire it happens at such a significant point in the novel.

I’d like to talk about some of the things that the show did pretty well. One of them was Simon’s character. Simon to me felt just like Simon from the books, his lines felt like Simon lines, the way he interacted with other characters felt very Simon like. Another thing was Clary and Simon’s friendship. Watching this show I felt the emotional  connection that I felt while reading the books, I feel like their relationship was portrayed correctly in this adaptation.

I really like little things that they added here and there about Isabelle. In episode two they bring up the fact that Isabelle can’t cook which made me so happy because I thought it wouldn’t have been something they’d put in the show. Another thing they added was the necklace, I wasn’t a huge fan of the way that they added it in but I liked that they put it in.

The last thing I’d like to mention is the fact that they added in demon pox. It was in episode seven and Alec says something along the lines of the situation they were in was a disaster, then Jace responds with, “demon pox is a disaster, this is just an inconvenience.” Words can not begin to describe how happy this made me.

It’s little things like this that give me hope for this show as an adaptation.

Before I finish this post I’d like to rank these episodes from my favourite to least favourite episode. Episode 8, Episode 4, Episode 5, Episode 1, Episode 2, Episode 13, Episode 7, Episode 9,Episode 3, Episode 11, Episode 6,Episode 12, Episode 10.


So those are all my thoughts and feelings on this season of Shadowhunters.

Leave a comment on your thoughts on this season so far, it can be positive or negative.

Thank you so much for reading.

Yas xx

One thought on “SHADOWHUNTERS SEASON ONE – TV SHOW DISCUSSION

Leave a Reply

