MARCH 2016 MONTHLY WRAP UP

Hey,

This month has been pretty good reading month for me and I’m hoping that it stays this way.

I read two and a half (ish) books this month which is crazy considering the amount of tests and homework I had this month.

Anyway, lets get into the wrap up…


8332923I’m the King of the Castle

Author: Susan Hill

Genre: Classic

Number of Pages: 252

Release Date: September 3rd 1970

Synopsis:

“I’m the King of the Castle is Susan Hill’s spellbinding novel of childhood cruelty. With an introduction by Esther Freud. Susan Hill’s I’m King of the Castle was first published in 1970. Telling the story of two boys forced to live together by their widowed parents, it is a chilling portrayal of childhood cruelty and persecution, of parental blindness and of our own ambivalence to what are supposed to be the happiest days of our lives.”

I wouldn’t have ever picked up this novel if it wasn’t for school. This novel definitely isn’t something I would read for fun or for review,  as I’m not a big fan of classics.

To me there was no clear plot or character development it was just a record of events, so there was nothing that grabbed my attention or made me feel any emotion.

I gave this novel a 2/5 stars


 

28376717Minor

Author: Meghan McDonnell

Number of Pages: 178

Release Date: December 18th 2015

Synopsis:

“Minor is the first installment of the personal journals in which, for over 20 years, writer Meghan McDonnell has chronicled her life beginning at age eight through present day. With searing candor and tenderness, her musings on daily life and observations of family, social and romantic relationships coalesce in a commentary on growing up, facing down passion and fear, and American life in the 21st century. Wide in scope and vivid in detail, her journals are her love letter to the world. Join her on a fearless, vulnerable, sometimes painful and quixotic, but always honest journey, also known as the human experience. Readers who love Cheryl Strayed or Karl Ove Knausgaard will enjoy this author.

Volume one spans her eighth year through age 17; reflections on family, friendship, education, a stint at survival camp and coming of age.”

I finished reading Minor this month, so I completed two reading challenges this month.

I enjoyed reading this book. I don’t want to put all my thoughts about this novel into this wrap up as I will have a spoiler free review up soon.

I gave this novel a 3.5/5 stars


 

23174274Glass Sword

Author: Victoria Aveyard

Genre: Fantasy

Number of Pages: 444

Release Date: February 9th 2016

Synopsis:

“If there’s one thing Mare Barrow knows, it’s that she’s different.

Mare Barrow’s blood is red—the color of common folk—but her Silver ability, the power to control lightning, has turned her into a weapon that the royal court tries to control.

The crown calls her an impossibility, a fake, but as she makes her escape from Maven, the prince—the friend—who betrayed her, Mare uncovers something startling: she is not the only one of her kind.

Pursued by Maven, now a vindictive king, Mare sets out to find and recruit other Red-and-Silver fighters to join in the struggle against her oppressors.

But Mare finds herself on a deadly path, at risk of becoming exactly the kind of monster she is trying to defeat.

Will she shatter under the weight of the lives that are the cost of rebellion? Or have treachery and betrayal hardened her forever?

The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates the struggle between the growing rebel army and the blood-segregated world they’ve always known—and pits Mare against the darkness that has grown in her soul.”

I read Red Queen last year and absolutely loved it, so I can’t begin to explain how excited I was when Glass Sword got released. I am currently 40% through the novel and I’m really enjoying it.

So far I give this book a 4.5/5 stars


 

So that’s what I read this month.

Thank you so much for reading.

Yas xx

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “MARCH 2016 MONTHLY WRAP UP

  1. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    Ooh, I haven’t read Glass Sword yet and I’m trying to decide if I should or not. AGH. Decisions. 😄 There are sooo many books to read, right!? Good on you for squeezing any reading in amongst tests and school. Eeep! That must be hard sometimes? (Although I’m the King of the Castle does sound pretty dull. Merp. Good on you for getting to the end anyway.) Happy reading for this month! 😀

    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s