FEBRUARY 2016 WRAP UP

Hey,
This month did not go to plan, well it did but it didn’t.
This month I have been super busy with school so I didn’t have a lot of time spare to read.
Luckily I got through one book this month and got part way through another.
Let’s get into the wrap up.


20578940The Iron Trial

Author: Holly Black and Cassandra Clare

Number of Pages: 269

Genre: Mystery

Release Date: February 2nd 2016

Synopsis:

“Most kids would do anything to pass the Iron Trial.

Not Callum Hunt. He wants to fail.

All his life, Call has been warned by his father to stay away from magic. If he succeeds at the Iron Trial and is admitted into the Magisterium, he is sure it can only mean bad things for him.

So he tries his best to do his worst – and fails at failing.

Now the Magisterium awaits him. It’s a place that’s both sensational and sinister, with dark ties to his past and a twisty path to his future.

The Iron Trial is just the beginning, for the biggest test is still to come . . .”

Originally I was going to read this book, as I got given a copy for Christmas a few years ago, however I couldn’t find the time and I also wasn’t that into it. So I got it as an audio book from my local library. I’ve never listened to an audio book before and I was quite surprised by how much I enjoyed it.
However I can’t say that I absolutely loved this book, then again I can’t say that I hated this book.
The plot, in a way reminded me of Harry Potter and I still don’t know how I feel about that.
I love Cassandra Clare’s writing and I really enjoyed it in this novel, obviously she co wrote it with Holly Black (I haven’t read one of her books before) but I still enjoyed the writing.
Overall this book was good, I was just expecting more from it.
I gave this novel a 3.5/5 stars


28376717Minor

Author: Meghan McDonnell

Number of Pages: 178

Release Date: December 18th 2015

Synopsis:

“Minor is the first installment of the personal journals in which, for over 20 years, writer Meghan McDonnell has chronicled her life beginning at age eight through present day. With searing candor and tenderness, her musings on daily life and observations of family, social and romantic relationships coalesce in a commentary on growing up, facing down passion and fear, and American life in the 21st century. Wide in scope and vivid in detail, her journals are her confessional love letter to the world. Join her on a fearless, vulnerable, sometimes painful and quixotic, but always honest journey, also known as the human experience. Readers who love Cheryl Strayed or Karl Ove Knausgaard will enjoy this author.

Volume one spans her eighth year through age 17; reflections on family, friendship, education, a stint at survival camp and coming of age.”

So far I am really enjoying this book, I haven’t really read anything like this before so it’s a brand new experience. I’ve found that this book has been really comforting as Meghan deals with similar issues/feelings as not just me but I think everyone else does at this age.

I haven’t finished this book yet but so far I’d give it a 4.5/5 stars.


 

So that’s what I read during February.

Leave a comment bellow if you’ve read any of the two books I just mentioned.

Thank you so much for reading.

Yas xx

 

 

2 thoughts on “FEBRUARY 2016 WRAP UP

    • readbooksanddrinkcoffee says:

      Oh my gosh that’s so cool, sorry I get excited when I/people find me online that are also from NZ. Yeah Iron Trials is alright but you just have to have the patience, hence why I listened to it as an audio book. But I’d still read

      Like

Leave a Reply

