JANUARY 2016 WRAP UP

Hey,

This month I read quite a few books and I’m proud of that. I participated in a read-a-thon at the beginning of the month which is one of the main reasons I read this three, almost four, books this month.

Lets get into the wrap up.


 

24751478Soundless

Author: Richelle Mead
Pages: 272
Published: November 10th 2015
Genre: Fantasy
Synopsis:
“In a village without sound…

For as long as Fei can remember, no one in her village has been able to hear. Rocky terrain and frequent avalanches make it impossible to leave the village, so Fei and her people are at the mercy of a zipline that carries food up the treacherous cliffs from Beiguo, a mysterious faraway kingdom.

When villagers begin to lose their sight, deliveries from the zipline shrink. Many go hungry. Fei and all the people she loves are plunged into crisis, with nothing to look forward to but darkness and starvation.

One girl hears a call to action…

Until one night, Fei is awoken by a searing noise. Sound becomes her weapon.

She sets out to uncover what’s happened to her and to fight the dangers threatening her village. A handsome miner with a revolutionary spirit accompanies Fei on her quest, bringing with him new risks and the possibility of romance. They embark on a majestic journey from the peak of their jagged mountain village to the valley of Beiguo, where a startling truth will change their lives forever…

And unlocks a power that will save her people.”

I read Richelle Mead’s Vampire Academy series two years ago and absolutely loved it. I can’t say that I loved this book as much as I loved this novel, however they are completely different so it isn’t fair to compare the two.

This book was pretty good. I never got bored while reading it, which is always a good thing. However the ending felt rushed which was disappointing because the rest of the book was good.

I gave this book a 4.5/5 stars


 

10507293

The Selection
Author: Kiera Cass
Pages: 336
Published: April 24th 2012
Genre: Science Fiction/Dystopia
Synopsis:
“For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.”

I really liked this book. I flew through it, I haven’t read a book this quickly in a long time. The plot was alright however I found it predictable. However I really liked the writing style and the concept of this novel. The Selection reminded me of the TV show The Bachelor .

I gave this book 4/5 stars


27866667In Place Of Never

Author: Julie Anne Lindsey

Number of Pages: 269

Genre: Mystery

Release Date: February 2nd 2016

Synopsis:

¨Can the truth set her free?…
 
A part of Mercy died the summer her sister tragically drowned. Now Mercy has a chance to discover if Faith’s death was an accident—or murder.  Her first step is to confront the lead suspects: a band of traveling gypsies—the last people who saw her sister alive. But Mercy finds an unexpected ally in Cross, the soulful musician in their ranks. He’s a kindred spirit, someone who sees into her heart for the first time in, well, forever. Yet stirring up the past puts Mercy in danger…
 
Suddenly someone is shadowing Mercy’s every move, making her even more determined to uncover the facts. With Cross by her side, she is ready to face it all, even if that means opening up to him, knowing he may one day leave her. What she discovers is a truth that rocks the foundation of her small river town—and a love worth risking everything for….¨

I received this book for review through Netgalley, so thank you so much for doing that. I really enjoyed this book.

I found it so interesting, it was very hard to put down. I have a spoiler free review on my blog if you’d like to read about my full thoughts on this book.

I gave this book a 4.5/5 stars.


20578940The Iron Trial

Author: Holly Black and Cassandra Clare

Number of Pages: 269

Genre: Mystery

Release Date: February 2nd 2016

Synopsis:

“Most kids would do anything to pass the Iron Trial.

Not Callum Hunt. He wants to fail.

All his life, Call has been warned by his father to stay away from magic. If he succeeds at the Iron Trial and is admitted into the Magisterium, he is sure it can only mean bad things for him.

So he tries his best to do his worst – and fails at failing.

Now the Magisterium awaits him. It’s a place that’s both sensational and sinister, with dark ties to his past and a twisty path to his future.

The Iron Trial is just the beginning, for the biggest test is still to come . . .”

Sadly this month I haven’t completed The Iron Trial, however I am twenty percent through this book already.

So far I know that I don’t love this book but I don’t hate it. It reminds me a lot of Harry Potter which should be a good thing but for me it’s not. I love Harry Potter don’t get me wrong but it feels weird to be reading a similar story with completely different characters.

I am planning to borrow the audio book out from my local library as I feel like I won’t be motivated to read it and that I might enjoy it more if I listen to it.


That’s what I read in the month of January, hopefully the rest of the year will be just as if not more successful.

Thank you so much for reading.

Yas xx

 

2 thoughts on “JANUARY 2016 WRAP UP

Leave a Reply

