DECEMBER 2015 WRAP UP

Hey,

Before I start I would like to apologise for uploading this wrap up so late. I thought I had uploaded it but for some unknown reason it hadn’t posted.

So December was definitely a terrible month of reading… I read one book and started two. This was definitely not how I wanted to end 2015. Hopefully 2016 will be better.

Now let’s get into the wrap up!


 

12512617Mockingjay

Author: Suzanne Collins
Pages: 455
Published: August 24th 2010
Genre: Science Fiction/Dystopia
Synopsis:

“My name is Katniss Everdeen.
Why am I not dead?
I should be dead.

Katniss Everdeen, girl on fire, has survived, even though her home has been destroyed. Gale has escaped. Katniss’s family is safe. Peeta has been captured by the Capitol. District 13 really does exist. There are rebels. There are new leaders. A revolution is unfolding.

It is by design that Katniss was rescued from the arena in the cruel and haunting Quarter Quell, and it is by design that she has long been part of the revolution without knowing it. District 13 has come out of the shadows and is plotting to overthrow the Capitol. Everyone, it seems, has had a hand in the carefully laid plans–except Katniss.

The success of the rebellion hinges on Katniss’s willingness to be a pawn, to accept responsibility for countless lives, and to change the course of the future of Panem. To do this, she must put aside her feelings of anger and distrust. She must become the rebels’ Mockingjay–no matter what the personal cost.”

Mockingjay Part 2 came out and like a lot of people I absolutely loved it. I know quite a few people re read the book before watching any adaptation. I usually don’t, however I read Mockingjay so long ago and I didn’t remember a lot it. I definitely enjoyed it a lot more reading it the second time, I was also able to appreciate the novel a lot more.

I gave this book a 5/5 stars


13414446Prodigy

Author: Marie Lu
Pages: 371
Published: January 29th 2013
Genre: Science Fiction/Dystopia
Synopsis:

Injured and on the run, it has been seven days since June and Day barely escaped Los Angeles and the Republic with their lives. Day is believed dead having lost his own brother to an execution squad who thought they were assassinating him. June is now the Republic’s most wanted traitor. Desperate for help, they turn to the Patriots – a vigilante rebel group sworn to bring down the Republic. But can they trust them or have they unwittingly become pawns in the most terrifying of political games?”

I’m currently only on page 84 of this book, which is really sad because I am loving this book so far. I started reading this book in the beginning of this month. The reason why I stopped reading this book was because I got sent a book for review and I wanted to read that book and get the review up as soon as I could.


 

27866667In Place of Never

Author: Julie Anne Lindsey
Pages: 269
Published:
Genre: young adult (that’s all that goodreads says)
Synopsis: February 2nd 2016

“Can the truth set her free?…
 
A part of Mercy died the summer her sister tragically drowned. Now Mercy has a chance to discover if Faith’s death was an accident—or murder.  Her first step is to confront the lead suspects: a band of traveling gypsies—the last people who saw her sister alive. But Mercy finds an unexpected ally in Cross, the soulful musician in their ranks. He’s a kindred spirit, someone who sees into her heart for the first time in, well, forever. Yet stirring up the past puts Mercy in danger…
 
Suddenly someone is shadowing Mercy’s every move, making her even more determined to uncover the facts. With Cross by her side, she is ready to face it all, even if that means opening up to him, knowing he may one day leave her. What she discovers is a truth that rocks the foundation of her small river town—and a love worth risking everything for….”

I got sent this book for review through Netgalley, so thank you so much for allowing me to review this book. I have read a little bit less than half of this book and I am already enjoying it. However I will have to push this book aside for the first week of January as I am participating in a read-a-thon.

 


So that was my final wrap up of 2015. Sadly it didn’t turn out the way I wanted it to, hopefully January will be better.

Leave a comment if you’ve read any of these books and what you thought about them.

Thank you for reading.
Yas xx

2 thoughts on “DECEMBER 2015 WRAP UP

Leave a Reply

