IN PLACE OF NEVER BY JULIE ANNE LINDSEY – BOOK REVIEW (SPOILER FREE)

278666671In Place Of Never

Author: Julie Anne Lindsey

Number of Pages: 269

Genre: Mystery

Release Date: February 2nd 2016

Synopsis:

¨Can the truth set her free?…
 
A part of Mercy died the summer her sister tragically drowned. Now Mercy has a chance to discover if Faith’s death was an accident—or murder.  Her first step is to confront the lead suspects: a band of traveling gypsies—the last people who saw her sister alive. But Mercy finds an unexpected ally in Cross, the soulful musician in their ranks. He’s a kindred spirit, someone who sees into her heart for the first time in, well, forever. Yet stirring up the past puts Mercy in danger…
 
Suddenly someone is shadowing Mercy’s every move, making her even more determined to uncover the facts. With Cross by her side, she is ready to face it all, even if that means opening up to him, knowing he may one day leave her. What she discovers is a truth that rocks the foundation of her small river town—and a love worth risking everything for….¨


 

I received In Place of Never by Julie Anne Lindsey through Netgalley so thank you so much for that.
The cover was the main reason I clicked on this book however the synopsis was what made me request it. I am have been really into reading mysteries, I’ve only read a couple, but I’ve really enjoyed reading them.

This book was easy to read, it wasn’t too descriptive but it had enough. I loved the writing style, she described everything so beautifully, for example, “Beside a full cup of coffee that had lost its steam,” I think it was an amazing way of describing the temperature if the coffee.

Our main character Mercy was an alright character, she wasn’t my favourite character in the novel however I did get attached to her. My favourite character was Cross, Will. I really enjoyed reading his conversations with Mercy and what he’d say to make her feel better. One of my favourite quotes is, “We all have scars. They aren’t always visible, but they’re there. Life’s hard on everyone, no matter what people show the world. Don’t be ashamed of these. Scars are proof of healing. Scars say you survived.”

Mercy battled against depression during the beginning of the novel. I’m not sure if this novel portrayed depression accurately however it was not the main focus in this novel.

The only negative thing I can say about this novel is that the ending felt slightly rushed, but there wasn’t much more she could write without dragging it out and ruining the ending.

Overall I think this was an amazing novel that I’d recommend to anyone.

I gave it a 4.5/5 stars.


 

Thank you so much for reading.

Yas xx

2 thoughts on “IN PLACE OF NEVER BY JULIE ANNE LINDSEY – BOOK REVIEW (SPOILER FREE)

Leave a Reply

