WINTER BIANNUAL BIBLIOTHON 2016 WRAP UP

Hey,

Sadly the biannual bibliothon didn’t go as well as I planned it to. My goal for the week was to read five books, I read two. My other goal for this week was to complete atleast four of the seven reading challenges, sadly I only completed two.
Even though this week didn’t go as planned I am still proud of myself.
I was quite busy during this week and I’m shocked that I read two books.
Anyway, let’s get into the wrap up.


 

24751478Soundless

Author: Richelle Mead
Pages: 272
Published: November 10th 2015
Genre: Fantasy
Synopsis:
“In a village without sound…

For as long as Fei can remember, no one in her village has been able to hear. Rocky terrain and frequent avalanches make it impossible to leave the village, so Fei and her people are at the mercy of a zipline that carries food up the treacherous cliffs from Beiguo, a mysterious faraway kingdom.

When villagers begin to lose their sight, deliveries from the zipline shrink. Many go hungry. Fei and all the people she loves are plunged into crisis, with nothing to look forward to but darkness and starvation.

One girl hears a call to action…

Until one night, Fei is awoken by a searing noise. Sound becomes her weapon.

She sets out to uncover what’s happened to her and to fight the dangers threatening her village. A handsome miner with a revolutionary spirit accompanies Fei on her quest, bringing with him new risks and the possibility of romance. They embark on a majestic journey from the peak of their jagged mountain village to the valley of Beiguo, where a startling truth will change their lives forever…

And unlocks a power that will save her people.”

completes the challenges:

  • read the group book

 
This was the first book I read this year and I’m so glad that it was a good book. I absolutely loved the Vampire Academy series, which was written by Richelle Mead, it’s one of my favourite series. I really liked the concept of this book and the way the world worked, I thought it was really interesting and quite sad in a way.
I honestly recommend this book to everyone.
I gave this book a 4.5/5 stars


10507293The Selection

Author: Kiera Cass
Pages: 336
Published: April 24th 2012
Genre: Science Fiction/Dystopia
Synopsis:
“For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.”
completes the challenges:

  • read a book that has been recommended to you more than once

I’ve heard so much about this series and have always wanted to pick it up but for some reason I didn’t get round to it. I am so happy that I picked up this book and I wish I had earlier.
I read this book in two sittings and I haven’t read a book this quickly in a long time. I don’t know what it was about this book that made me love it so much, but I love it.
I don’t like the show The Bachelor, I know I shouldn’t say that as I’ve never seen an episode in my life, but I don’t like the show. However this book reminded me of the show.
I gave this book a 4/5 stars.


That’s what I read during the 2016 winter biannual bibliothon.
Leave a comment bellow if you read any of the books I mentioned or if I you participated in the biannual bibliothon this week.

Thank you for reading.

Yas xx

7 thoughts on “WINTER BIANNUAL BIBLIOTHON 2016 WRAP UP

  1. Jess I. says:

    Aw, even though you didn’t complete AS MANY as you’d hoped, you still read some which is amazing! Plus you enjoyed both so that, in my opinion, is a win. I really love the Selection Series (at least up to book 3)! Like you said, it reminds me of the Bachelor but the competition aspect keeps me reading.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

