TOP TEN BOOKS I READ IN 2015

Hey,

On Christmas morning I woke up and realised that I hadn’t posted anything festive on my blog. Which is quite weird because Christmas is my favourite holiday.
However since 2016 has just begun I decided to make a list of my top ten reads of 2015.
In no particular order, here are my top ten reads of 2015.


18163646Falling into Place

Author: Amy Zhang
Pages: 304
Published: September 9th 2014
Genre: Contemporary
Synopsis:

“On the day Liz Emerson tries to die, they had reviewed Newton’s laws of motion in physics class. Then, after school, she put them into practice by running her Mercedes off the road.

Why? Why did Liz Emerson decide that the world would be better off without her? Why did she give up? Vividly told by an unexpected and surprising narrator, this heartbreaking and nonlinear novel pieces together the short and devastating life of Meridian High’s most popular junior girl. Mass, acceleration, momentum, force—Liz didn’t understand it in physics, and even as her Mercedes hurtles toward the tree, she doesn’t understand it now. How do we impact one another? How do our actions reverberate? What does it mean to be a friend? To love someone? To be a daughter? Or a mother? Is life truly more than cause and effect? Amy Zhang’s haunting and universal story will appeal to fans of Lauren Oliver, Gayle Forman, and Jay Asher.”

I read Falling into Place in one sitting in July this year, reading a book in one sitting is rare for me. I remember how emotional this book was and how attached I got to the characters. I loved the writing in this book, it was so descriptive and beautiful. I have so many positive things to say about this book but I don’t want to spoil the book for those of you who have not read it yet.


Afterworlds18367581

Author: Scott Westerfeld
Pages: 599
Published: September 23rd 2014
Genre: Fantasy
Synopsis:

“Darcy Patel has put college and everything else on hold to publish her teen novel, Afterworlds. Arriving in New York with no apartment or friends she wonders whether she’s made the right decision until she falls in with a crowd of other seasoned and fledgling writers who take her under their wings…

Told in alternating chapters is Darcy’s novel, a suspenseful thriller about Lizzie, a teen who slips into the ‘Afterworld’ to survive a terrorist attack. But the Afterworld is a place between the living and the dead and as Lizzie drifts between our world and that of the Afterworld, she discovers that many unsolved – and terrifying – stories need to be reconciled. And when a new threat resurfaces, Lizzie learns her special gifts may not be enough to protect those she loves and cares about most.”

I read Afterworlds around May to June of this year. I picked it up from my school library, originally I wanted to pick up the Uglies series but someone else had taken the first novel. Since I’ve heard so many positive things about Scott Westerfeld’s writing I had to pick up one of his novels. I’ve never read a book like this before, a book with two stories, and I loved it. It was really interesting to see how publishing works, I believe that this story was an accurate representation of how publishing works, if it isn’t it was still really interesting. I loved the fact that we got to see the story that the author wrote and was getting ready to be published.


11366397The Program

Author: Suzanne Young
Pages: 405
Published: April 30th 2013
Genre: Science Fiction
Synopsis:
“In Sloane’s world, true feelings are forbidden, teen suicide is an epidemic, and the only solution is The Program.

Sloane knows better than to cry in front of anyone. With suicide now an international epidemic, one outburst could land her in The Program, the only proven course of treatment. Sloane’s parents have already lost one child; Sloane knows they’ll do anything to keep her alive. She also knows that everyone who’s been through The Program returns as a blank slate. Because their depression is gone—but so are their memories.

Under constant surveillance at home and at school, Sloane puts on a brave face and keeps her feelings buried as deep as she can. The only person Sloane can be herself with is James. He’s promised to keep them both safe and out of treatment, and Sloane knows their love is strong enough to withstand anything. But despite the promises they made to each other, it’s getting harder to hide the truth. They are both growing weaker. Depression is setting in. And The Program is coming for them.”

I cannot express how much I love this novel. I love the characters, the plot and everything else about this novel. Suzanne Young is really good at creating characters and stories that are so easy to get attached to. I read The Program, The Treatment and The Remedy this year and flew through each novel. I have a spoiler free review on my blog for The Remedy, if you’d like to know some of my thoughts this book. If you haven’t read The Program I recommend that you pick it up in 2016.


18621194Half Bad

Author: Sally Green
Pages: 394
Published: March 4th 2014
Genre: Fantasy
Synopsis:
“Wanted by no one.
Hunted by everyone.
Sixteen-year-old Nathan lives in a cage: beaten, shackled, trained to kill. In a modern-day England where two warring factions of witches live amongst humans, Nathan is an abomination, the illegitimate son of the world’s most terrifying and violent witch, Marcus. Nathan’s only hope for survival is to escape his captors, track down Marcus, and receive the three gifts that will bring him into his own magical powers—before it’s too late. But how can Nathan find his father when there is no one safe to trust, not even family, not even the girl he loves?”

When I first picked up this book I expected it to be a stand alone, fortunately I was wrong as this is the first book in a trilogy. The concept of the white and black witches reminds me of racism, as someone who strongly believes in equality for all people no matter what their race/gender/sexual preference is, I found it really interesting to read about this world. Having the main character is half “white” and half “black” was very interesting to read about. I honestly recommend this trilogy to anyone who loves fantasy novels.


16143347We Were Liars

Author: E. Lockhart
Pages: 242
Published: May 13th 2014
Genre: Contemporary
Synopsis:
“A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.”

I really really liked this book. I’d heard a lot about this book through booktube, I’m pretty sure it was Booksplosion’s the book of the month around June/July of 2014. The writing style was so beautiful and captivating. I really enjoyed the way E. Lockhart explained the characters emotions, she did it in such a beautiful way. The plot of this novel was so mysterious and intriguing, it was really hard to put the book down. I 100% recommend this novel.


 

Eleanor and Park

Author: Rainbow Rowell
Pages: 328
Published: February 26th 2013
Genre: Contemporary
Synopsis:

“Two misfits.
One extraordinary love.

Eleanor… Red hair, wrong clothes. Standing behind him until he turns his head. Lying beside him until he wakes up. Making everyone else seem drabber and flatter and never good enough…Eleanor.

Park… He knows she’ll love a song before he plays it for her. He laughs at her jokes before she ever gets to the punch line. There’s a place on his chest, just below his throat, that makes her want to keep promises…Park.

Set over the course of one school year, this is the story of two star-crossed sixteen-year-olds—smart enough to know that first love almost never lasts, but brave and desperate enough to try.”

I have mentioned this book on my blog quite a few times this year. I find it really hard to have an emotional connect with characters in a contemporary novel, I know that may sound weird but it’s true. Rainbow Rowell was able to make me feel exactly what the character were feeling. I can’t go into this book too much without spoiling it for you, however I have a full review, there is spoilers, on my blog if you’d like to go check it out.


 

Dead Ringer

Author: Jessie Rosen
Pages: 352
Published: November 11th 2015
Genre: Mystery/Contemporary
Synopsis:

“From the moment Laura Rivers steps foot into Englewood High, she notices the stares—and they aren’t the typical once-overs every pretty new girl endures. The students seem confused and…spooked. Whispers echoing through the halls confirm that something is seriously off. “That new girl looks just like her,” they say.

It turns out Laura has a doppelgänger, and it isn’t just anyone—it’s Sarah Castro-Tanner, the girl who killed herself by jumping into the Navasink River one year ago.

Laura is determined not to let the gossip ruin her chances of making a fresh start. Thanks to her charming personality and California tan, she catches the eye of Englewood’s undisputed golden boy, Charlie Sanders, and it’s only a matter of time before they make their relationship official.

But something is making Charlie and his friends paranoid—and Laura soon discovers it has to do with Sarah Castro-Tanner.

What really happened to Sarah? Why is Charlie unraveling? And how does Laura Rivers fit into it all?

After all, she’s the dead ringer for a dead girl.”

I received this book for review from Netgalley and I definitely wasn’t expecting to enjoy this book as much as I did. This book had such an interesting plot that was filled with so many plot twists and huge character development. I also have a spoiler free review for this book up on my blog if you’d like to go check it out.


15753977Legend

Author: Marie Lu
Number of Pages: 305
Published: November 29th 2011
Genre: science fiction / dystopian
Synopsis:

“What was once the western United States is now home to the Republic, a nation perpetually at war with its neighbors. Born into an elite family in one of the Republic’s wealthiest districts, fifteen-year-old June is a prodigy being groomed for success in the Republic’s highest military circles. Born into the slums, fifteen-year-old Day is the country’s most wanted criminal. But his motives may not be as malicious as they seem.

From very different worlds, June and Day have no reason to cross paths—until the day June’s brother, Metias, is murdered and Day becomes the prime suspect. Caught in the ultimate game of cat and mouse, Day is in a race for his family’s survival, while June seeks to avenge Metias’s death. But in a shocking turn of events, the two uncover the truth of what has really brought them together, and the sinister lengths their country will go to keep its secrets.”

I love science fiction/dystopian novels and I really enjoyed this book. This book had a very interesting plot and was written nicely. I really like Marie Lu’s writing style, I find it so easy to read and understand. I also enjoyed the dual points of view, I know a lot of people don’t like them but I really like knowing what the other characters are feeling.


A Work In Progress
Author: Connor Franta
Pages: 212
Published: April 21st 2015
Genre: Autobiography/Memoir
Synopsis:

“In this intimate memoir of life beyond the camera, Connor Franta shares the lessons he has learned on his journey from small-town boy to Internet sensation so far.

Here, Connor offers a look at his Midwestern upbringing as one of four children in the home and one of five in the classroom; his struggles with identity, body image, and sexuality in his teen years; and his decision to finally pursue his creative and artistic passions in his early twenties, setting up his thrilling career as a YouTube personality, philanthropist, entrepreneur, and tastemaker.

Exploring his past with insight and humor, his present with humility, and his future with hope, Connor reveals his private struggles while providing heartfelt words of wisdom for young adults. His words will resonate with anyone coming of age in the digital era, but at the core is a timeless message for people of all ages: don’t be afraid to be yourself and to go after what you truly want.

This full-color collection includes photography and childhood clippings provided by Connor and is a must-have for anyone inspired by his journey.”

I am not a huge fan on memoirs, mostly because I haven’t had the best experience with them. However Connors book was such a beautiful book, the way he told the story was amazing. I loved the images inside the book, they made it feel more personal. I also liked that at the end of most chapters, well during the chapters, he had a lesson like; self-confidence, accepting who you are, doing what you love and many more. I think that these little lessons impacted me a lot, they really made me sit back and think.


So that’s the top ten books I read during 2015. Comment down bellow your top ten books of 2015.

Happy New Year

Yas xx

Leave a Reply

