TOTALLY SHOULD’VE BOOK TAG

Hi,

If you haven’t noticed by now I mention Emma, emmmabooks on youtube, on my blog quite a bit when it comes to book recommendations. Recently Emma created the Totally Should’ve Book Tag which was inspired by the Totally Didn’t Book Tag.

I love Emma’s tags and told her that I’d do the tag even though I wasn’t tagged, she then officially tagged me in the comments which was super sweet so thank you so much Emma.

Now that I’ve done my massive introduction I’ll get on with the tag.


Questions

1. Totally should’ve gotten a sequel

Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

If you didn’t know then now you do, I absolutely love Rainbow Rowell’s novels, the only thing she could do to make her books better is by turning them into series. Now it’s highly unlikely that I’d love the sequel as much as I loved the first novel but I just want to see more of these characters.


2. Totally should’ve had a spin off series

The Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling

Just like Emma and every other reader out there, I think Harry Potter should have a spin of series. I know that we are getting the Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them films but I kind of want to have another trilogy/series I wouldn’t even mind just getting a few novellas. Imagine getting to see what happened with Lily and James or getting to see what happens with James, Lily and Albus.

3. An author who totally should write more books

Marissa Meyer

If you don’t know who Marissa Meyer is she is the author of the Lunar Chronicles (book one is on the left.) I absolutely love her writing style and the novels she has written, I wish she would write more because I love her writing, novels and her characters.

4. A character who totally should’ve ended up with someone else

Hermione and Harry from the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling

Before I explain why I chose them for this question I’d like to say that I love Ron and Hermione as a couple, personally I couldn’t see them not being together. However as I read the series I really loved Harry and Hermione’s friendship, how they were almost like siblings. While I was reading the series I wanted Harry and Hermione to get together, now I don’t actually mind. The reason why I picked Harry and Hermione for this question was because I had no idea who else to use, all my otps are canon which is always a good thing.

5. Totally should’ve ended differently

The Retribution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

I loved this book but the ending felt wrong, maybe because I still want more books in this series. The ending in a way felt rushes and I believe it could have been written in a better way.

6. Totally should’ve had a movie franchise

The Testing by Joelle Charbonneau

I can’t express how much I love this book. My best friend Emily told me to read it then Emma, emmmabooks, had it her unknown book recommendations for 2014 video. I feel that both Emily and Emma like reading the same type of books as I do, so I knew I had to pick it up. I think this series would make an amazing movie franchise, if done well. I believe it’s world doesn’t have too many aspects for it to be a tv series but just the right amount for it to be made into a movie.

7. Totally should’ve had a TV show

The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

I think that the Lunar Chronicles should have a TV show. Personally I feel like this series has too many different aspects to it’s world for it to be made into a movie, if it was it’d be rushed and important details would be cut out.

8. Totally should’ve had only one point of view

Allegiant by Veronica Roth

If you’ve been on my blog before you’d know that I love dual points of view, I love getting to know what the other characters are feeling. However I really didn’t like the dual point of views in this novel. I found it hard to tell the difference between the two characters which made it really confusing. I can’t really discuss more of this as it is the final book in the trilogy and I’ll probably spoil the ending for those of you who haven’t read this book yet.

9. Totally should have a cover change

Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

I shamefully judge a book by it’s cover and I know I’m not the only one. I’m also pretty sure I’m not the only one who dislikes the Vampire Academy covers. I know this series has had a “cover change” but really it wasn’t a cover change. Personally the covers don’t represent what the book is about in anyway, and to be honest I wouldn’t have picked up this series if it wasn’t for the huge amount of people who were telling me to read it.

10. Totally should’ve kept the original covers

The Shadowhunter Chronicles by Cassandra Clare

I love this series, I think love is an understatement actually. I’ll probably go into detail about why I love this series so much in a blog post later. They recently changed the covers for this series and I’m not to sure how I feel about them.

Personally I love the original covers, mostly because those were the covers that were on the editions that I read (if that makes sense) but again the new covers have an arty spine which I think is pretty cool.

However the new covers remind me of the Percy Jackson covers, which is a middle grade series. The Shadowhunter Chronicles is a young adult novel and it’s definitely not something I would recommend to children who are eight to twelve years old. It gives off a completely different impression on this series as it is a young adult series. Again everyone judges a book by it’s cover, don’t lie you know you do.

This series didn’t need new covers but they made new covers, well that’s how I feel about it.

11. Totally should’ve stopped at book one

I will admit I did love this series, then I read Insurgent then Allegiant. Don’t get me  wrong I liked Insurgent, I think I just wasn’t in the mood to read it. I didn’t like Allegiant at all, not because of what happens to a certain character but because I think the entire book felt rushed and it brought up to many new questions for it to be a final book in a trilogy.


So that’s the Totally Should’ve Book Tag. I just realised I mentioned a lot of the same books multiple times, *cough* Harry Potter *cough*

I Tag:

Teo (on youtube)Floriane, WesaunMichelle, Jess and anyone else who would like to do this tag (if you do leave a link in the comments)

Thank you so much for reading.

Yas xx

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “TOTALLY SHOULD’VE BOOK TAG

Leave a Reply

