DEAD RINGER BY JESSIE ROSEN – BOOK REVIEW (SPOILER FREE)

Dead Ringer

Author: Jessie Rosen
Pages: 352
Published: November 11th 2015
Genre: Mystery/Contemporary
Synopsis:

“From the moment Laura Rivers steps foot into Englewood High, she notices the stares—and they aren’t the typical once-overs every pretty new girl endures. The students seem confused and…spooked. Whispers echoing through the halls confirm that something is seriously off. “That new girl looks just like her,” they say.

It turns out Laura has a doppelgänger, and it isn’t just anyone—it’s Sarah Castro-Tanner, the girl who killed herself by jumping into the Navasink River one year ago.

Laura is determined not to let the gossip ruin her chances of making a fresh start. Thanks to her charming personality and California tan, she catches the eye of Englewood’s undisputed golden boy, Charlie Sanders, and it’s only a matter of time before they make their relationship official.

But something is making Charlie and his friends paranoid—and Laura soon discovers it has to do with Sarah Castro-Tanner.

What really happened to Sarah? Why is Charlie unraveling? And how does Laura Rivers fit into it all?

After all, she’s the dead ringer for a dead girl.”


Hey,

I received Dead Ringer by Jessie Rosen in exchange for an honest review. I was really excited when I received this book for review. The synopsis was really interesting and I haven’t read a lot of mystery books.

If you’ve read some of my other posts you’d know I love multiple points of view. This novel had not two points of view but three, which made me love this book more.

I liked how there was really no ‘good guy’ in this book. All of these characters had done something wrong. None of them were pure and perfect like some authors make their characters. I think by Jessie Rosen writing her characters this way it made them feel more realistic.

Laura, our main character, is the new girl at Englewood High and she looks very similar to Sarah, who died almost two years prior. During the novel Laura tries to figure out who actually happened to Sarah.

We also get to see what Charlie, the love interest, is thinking. Charlie has his own secrets surrounding Sarah. I liked reading Charlies point of view, his character developed nicely throughout the novel.

Sasha is the last persons point of view we get to see. Like Laura she’s also trying to find out what really happened to Sarah. At first we don’t know her motivation or even how she knows Sarah. Her point of view really added an extra touch of mystery to this novel.

One of the best things about this novel was that I was never bored while reading it, not a lot of authors manage to do that for me. I would’ve easily read this in one sitting if it weren’t for exams. There were a lot of plot twists that I didn’t see coming, these kept me on my toes. The author did a marvellous job at making these plot twists so unpredictable.

I believe that there is going to be a sequel and I will most definitely be reading it when it gets released.

If you’re or you’re not into mysteries you will love this book. Trust me.

I gave this novel 5/5 stars.
Highly Recommend


Thank you so much for reading.

Yas xx

4 thoughts on “DEAD RINGER BY JESSIE ROSEN – BOOK REVIEW (SPOILER FREE)

Leave a Reply

