FINDING HOPE BY COLLEEN NELSON – BOOK REVIEW (SPOILER FREE)

Finding Hope

Author: Colleen Nelson
Pages: 200
Published: March 19th 2016
Genre: Contemporary
Synopsis:

“Hope leaves her small town for a fresh start, but her plans are derailed by an online romance and the appearance of her brother.

Hope lives in a small town with nothing to do and nowhere to go. With a drug addict for a brother, she focuses on the only thing that keeps her sane, writing poetry. To escape, she jumps at the chance to attend Ravenhurst Academy as a boarding student. She’ll even put up with the clique-ish Ravens if it means making a fresh start.

At first, Ravenhurst is better than Hope could have dreamed. She has a boyfriend and a cool roommate, and she might finally have found a place she can fit in. But can she trust her online boyfriend? And what can she do after her brother shows up at the school gates, desperate for help, and the Ravens turn on her? Trapped and unsure, Hope realizes that if she wants to save her brother, she has to save herself first.”


Hi,

I recently received Finding Hope by Colleen Nelson for review from Dundurn through Netgalley, so thank you so much for doing that. The synopsis caught my eye and I was really excited to start reading it.

I really enjoyed reading this book, there were some things that stood out to me more than others. I will talk about these in detail in the review.

One of the main things I loved reading Hope’s poetry, I think it gave a different view on how she was feeling. I also loved the way she talked about her poems, for example,“My poems. Not meant for public consumption.” I think this showed how real they were, how they were almost like a diary. “The remains of the poem I’d scrawled on myself days ago. Like almost-erased footprints,” and, “My insecurities laid bare on my flesh.” This also helped show how real and personal her poems were.

There are a two little things that I love in books; small details and dual points of view. I love finding extra details in books, like a map or a drawing at the start of each chapter. In this book they had the raven at the start of each chapter and I really liked that. I’m a sucker for dual point of view, my favourite books are either in third person or have dual perspectives. I loved finding out how not only Hope was feeling but also Eric.

I gave this book a 4.5/5 stars.

I would recommend it to everyone.

However if you aren’t comfortable reading about teens with drug addictions then I wouldn’t recommend this to you. If you are then I definitely think you should check it out.


Thank you for reading.
Yas xx

Leave a Reply

