THE REMEDY BY SUZANNE YOUNG – BOOK REVIEW (SPOILER FREE)

Hey,

I recently read The Remedy by Suzanne Young and wanted to give you my opinion on it.


The Remedy

Author: Suzanne Young

Number of Pages: 416

Genre: Young Adult/Suspense

Release Date: 21 April 2015

Synopsis:

“Quinlan McKee is a closer. Since the age of seven, Quinn has held the responsibility of providing closure to grieving families with a special skill—she can ‘become’ anyone.

Recommended by grief counselors, Quinn is hired by families to take on the short-term role of a deceased loved one between the ages of fifteen and twenty. She’s not an exact copy, of course, but she wears their clothes and changes her hair, studies them through pictures and videos, and soon, Quinn can act like them, smell like them, and be them for all intents and purposes. But to do her job successfully, she can’t get attached.

Now seventeen, Quinn is deft at recreating herself, sometimes confusing her own past with those of the people she’s portrayed. When she’s given her longest assignment, playing the role of Catalina Barnes, Quinn begins to bond with the deceased girl’s boyfriend. But that’s only the beginning of the complications, especially when Quinn finds out the truth about Cat.”

This book was really good. However at first I didn’t I love it as much as I loved The Program and The Treatment, mostly because I got so attached to the characters in the other two novels. But I rate this book equal to The Program and The Treatment.

Suzanne Young’s writing style is very easy to get into and get addicted to. Also the characters she writes about are so interesting and easy to fall in love with.

I didn’t read the synopsis on this book before I started it, as I usually do, so I thought it was going to be in the point of view of one of the handlers or someone who worked for the program, but I was completely wrong.

I love the concept of closers, I’d never want one but I love the idea behind it even though it’s completely morbid.

The ending of this novel was so shocking and heart retching, like all Suzanne Young books. I read the end of it in English class and was almost in tears, I totally would’ve thrown the book at the classroom wall if 1. It was my book and 2. I wasn’t in class

This book took all of my attention and controlled my thoughts for over a week.


Highly Recommend

5/5 stars

3 thoughts on “THE REMEDY BY SUZANNE YOUNG – BOOK REVIEW (SPOILER FREE)

  1. Zoe says:

    I read The Program and really liked it, but for some reason I never continued on to read the rest of the series. This is definitely an incentive for me to pick up the next book in the series ASAP – it sounds like the series just gets better and better. Thank you for sharing this and, as always, wonderful review! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • readbooksanddrinkcoffee says:

      I’m so glad! Seriously I’ve been trying to get my best friend to read it for months, but like me she adds it to her tbr and takes forever to read it. The Remedy is a spin off, it’s basically what happened BEFORE The Program. Read The Treatment then The Remedy. Thank you so much for commenting.

      Like

Leave a Reply

